The Ultimate Culinary Challenge

Seen as the UK’s most prestigious and respected culinary content, the NCOTY competition has a long heritage, having helped to launch careers and opportunities for some of the biggest names in the UK’s chef world.

The passion, the emotion and the pure blood, sweat and tears you see in a cook-off, shows how much these competitions mean to a chef. It tests more than culinary skills; it tests character, resilience and raw emotion and only the best will take that top spot. With the prestigious panel of judges, led by Paul Ainsworth, every chef who enters knows they will gain valuable feedback to help them improve; whatever stage of the competition they reach. There’s never been a more important time for chefs to push themselves out their comfort zone and into the NCOTY spotlight.

NCOTY Criteria

This year The National Chef of the Year criteria will focus on chefs’ experiences of the past year as this global pandemic will go down in history. The impact on the hospitality industry has been devastating for many chefs and businesses. Our farmers, fishermen, artisan food producers and small businesses have had their livelihoods challenged, with many struggling to recover. There have been many stories of chefs rising from the ashes to develop new businesses, provide new services and change the way food and hospitality is offered. From providing Michelin starred meal kits to feeding communities and developing an online presence, chefs have been amazing at embracing change. You may have spent more time cooking for family or friends at home, learnt new skills or cooking for customers in a completely different way. See the menu criteria here...

Meet our Finalists...

• Marc Billings, head chef, Prestwold Hall and Hall Barns at Prestwold, Leicestershire
• Ben Boeynaems, executive chef, The Beaumont Hotel, London
• Ross Brown, chef de partie, BaxterStorey, London
• Iain Gourlay, head chef, Cringletie House Hotel, Scottish Borders
• Elliot Hill, head chef, Panoramic 34, Liverpool
• Christopher Niven, executive chef, Marine North Berwick, East Lothian
• Russell Plowman, senior sous chef, Restaurant Andrew Fairlie, Perthshire
• Stefan Sewell, head chef, RAF, Suffolk
• Jack Shaw, head chef, Lexington Catering/ Savills, London
• Adam Smith, sous chef, Gravetye Manor, Sussex
• Thomas Swaby, head chef, Inverlochy Castle, Fort William
• Gary Townsend, head chef, 1 Devonshire Gardens, Glasgow

Find out more about the finalists here...

Meet our NCOTY winner!

Thomas Swaby 

Hear what our winners had to say...

NCOTY Title Holders

  • 2022 Thomas Swaby
  • 2021 Nick Smith
  • 2020 Steve Groves
  • 2019 Kuba Winkowski
  • 2018 Luke Selby
  • 2017 James Devine
  • 2016 Larry Jayasekara
  • 2014 Russell Bateman
  • 2013 Hayden Groves
  • 2012 Alyn Williams
  • 2011 Frederick Forster
  • 2010 Hrishikesh Desai
  • 2008 Simon Hulstone
  • 2006 Eyck Zimmer
  • 2004 Steve Love
  • 2002 Mark Sargeant
  • 2000 Bruce Sangster
  • 1984 Robert Mabey
  • 1982 William Stafford
  • 1980 Ken Whibley
  • 1978 Paul Brady
  • 1976 Eddie van Meille
  • 1974 Bryan Price
  • 1972 Pierre Jacquemin
  • 1998 Kevin Viner
  • 1996 David Everitt-Matthias
  • 1994 Lou Jones
  • 1992 Gordon Ramsay
  • 1990 Roger Narbett
  • 1988 Mark Gregory
  • 1986 David Pitchford