The Search for the UK’s Top Young Chef Talent is on!

Young National Chef of the Year surpasses all other young chef contests, bringing together those identified as the best young chefs in the industry and gives them a platform on which to build their future careers. Winning YNCOTY firmly establishes a chef as a rising star of the culinary world both in the UK and beyond. Being crowned as Young National Chef of the Year is a highly sought after prize, but as well as going home with this prestigious accolade, the winner will also receive some incredible stagiaires and PR opportunities that will truly raise their profile in the industry.

The format of YNCOTY will remain a ‘by invitation only’ competition. Where the following, accredited professional chef associations will put forward their preferred candidate. By doing so, the organisers are confident they will find ten chefs who are at the top of their game and should be celebrated in the national spotlight.

See the 2022 brief here...

Meet our 2022 Competitors:

  • Charlie Knight, chef de partie at the House of Commons
  • George Baldwin-Edie, development chef for Marks and Spencer
  • Scott Pepper, demi chef de partie at Boodles
  • Ashleigh Hellowell, chef de partie at Manor House Lindley
  • Samantha Watkins, commis chef, Sapori
  • Shannon Lippiatt, commis chef, The Old School House Toll Restaurant
  • Jamaar Semper-House, junior sous chef, The Manor House Hotel
  • Dalton Weir, junior sous chef, Cottage Loaf
  • Ben Shields, commis chef, La Moye Golf Club
  • Liam Rogers, sous chef, The Gleneagles Hotel
  • Joshua Singer, senior chef de partie, Scott's of Mayfair
  • Theo Hadjitofi, chef de partie, The Table at de Banke Group
  • Fraser Cameron, senior sous chef, The Globe Inn
  • Nicole Watt, ABCS, Royal Navy Embassy Admiralty House
  • Mae Dionio, chef de partie, Le Manoir aux Quat’Saisons
  • Jessica Watson, commis chef, The Northumberland Club
  • Charlie Critchton-Rutter, commis chef, Horticulture Newcastle

Hear what our winners had to say...

YNCOTY Title Holders

  • 2022 Daniel Cornish
  • 2021 Edwin Kuk
  • 2020 William Keeble
  • 2019 Henry Wadsworth
  • 2018 Danny Young
  • 2017 Ruth Hansom
  • 2013 Ben Champkin
  • 2012 Charles Smith
  • 2016 Danny Hoang
  • 2014 Luke Selby